My First Attempt at Writing in Over 18 Months Contains an Early Surprise

So, to borrow an anachronism from the sport of football, my writing ‘offense’ perhaps ought best be described as “three yards, and a cloud of dust.” That is to say, that I’m generating a flurry of activity, but I’m not going very far or very fast.

Specifically, I’m alternating between continuing with my research, which is currently focused on the Egyptian Old Kingdom (specifically, the sixth dynasty) and writing story and character sketches to see where my writing now stands after my extended hiatus.

I initially thought that these sketches would strictly be writing exercises, but I rather like the character that I came up with in my first sketch. So much so, that I think I just might have a protagonist here, which makes me very happy indeed. I’m not entirely certain, but just maybe! I can’t wait to get this first sketch finished!

Beyond that, I’m trying to increase my focus on God, daily. It’s such a challenge. Plus, I feel badly that it is such a challenge. Now, I don’t have to ‘think hard’ to think of all that God has done for me; and not just for me, either, but for all of humanity that I am a part of. There is not a single facet of my life that can’t be ascribed to a blessing from God, even the fact that I am alive at all. Yet the world crowds in upon us, clamors for our attention, blaring like a perpetual claxon, pummeling us every single second with what it considers important. I’ve really come to loathe ‘worldliness’. It is the enemy of every believer, of every heart that yearns after God.

Oh. That was a tangent. Yeah, I do that now. I’m not sorry (which is why I’m leaving it), but thoughts like those happen to me a lot. Lisa and I have been going through one difficulty after another for the past two years, with little to no sign of the difficulties abating. Our faith is not shaky. In fact, all of this has strengthened our faith far more than we could describe, but we are tired. We look back and can see very plainly how God has used every crisis to grow and deepen our faith and our reliance upon Him, and we are very grateful and deeply humbled. It reminds me immediately of an excerpt of one of David’s psalms: “What is man that you are mindful of him?” (Psalm 8:4a) But I’m also reminded of the character Tevye in Fiddler on the Roof, when he is talking about the Jews being God’s chosen people, and he looks up toward God and pleads, “I know, I know. We are Your chosen people, But, once in a while, can’t You choose someone else?”

I’ve grown a lot over the past two years; both of us have. Father, can’t we just take a short breather and be stagnant for a little while?

We shall see what He says…

In the meantime, I have more writing and researching to do.

Till next time,

Y’varecheka Adonai v’yishmerecka (May the Lord bless you)

 

Leave a Reply

